About ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Aug 2, 2018

Each chocolate-flavored serving of ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD contains 20g of plant protein, along with a blend of fiber, to “support optimum tissue repair, appetite regulation, and fat metabolism.”

Together, the company claims you’ll experience improved energy, reduced cravings, increased fullness after meals, stronger muscles and bones, a more balanced mood, boosted energy, and supported heart, brain, and eye health.

The Gundry MD website advertises you simply need to mix two scoops of ProPlant Complete into the beverage of your choice and enjoy. When consumed regularly, we’re told most customers report a different within a few days, while for others it may take two to three weeks.

Can you really achieve all of these benefits—including weight management and whole body health—by drinking a once-daily shake like ProPlant Complete? This is the central question we’ll help you answer in this article.

The Importance of Protein for Good Health

In addition to carbohydrates and fats, protein is a macronutrient that Neil Osterweil explains is broken down by the body into amino acids.

Then, these amino acids are used by every cell in the body to “build and repair tissues” and to “make enzymes, hormones, and other body chemicals.” They’re also “an important building block of bones, muscles, cartilage, skin, and blood,” he says.

Based on the current Dietary Reference Intake (DRI) guidelines, Healthline reports the average sedentary woman needs about 46 grams of protein per day, while the average sedentary man needs about 56 grams per day.

However, this is only to prevent deficiency, and your specific protein needs could be much higher, depending on “activity level, age, muscle mass, physique goals, and current state of health.”

This is where powdered dietary supplements like ProPlant Complete come in, by boosting the amount of protein available to the body. But, is the fact that it’s plant-based an advantage?

Animal vs. Plant-Based Protein

A different Healthline article reports that, compared to animal-based protein (such as whey), plant proteins are typically incomplete, in that they don’t contain all of the amino acids necessary for muscle rebuilding, etc. So, from a sheer biological perspective, animal-based proteins most closely match what’s found in your body.

On the flip side, Kedist Tedla at the American Council on Science and Health reports that food-based animal protein sources (especially processed meats) can significantly increase a person’s risk of mortality. However, much of this concern is alleviated when it comes to protein powder supplements since many of the harmful substances are no longer present.

ProPlant Complete Shake Ingredients and Nutrition Information

Each ProPlant Complete Shake contains 240 calories, with 70 grams of fat (1.5 g of saturated fat) and just one gram of sugar. Additional ingredients include:

Protein 20 g, Thiamin 0.6 mg, Riboflavin 0.2 mg, Niacin 4.6 mg, Vitamin B6 0.3 mg, Folate 82 mcg, Calcium 140 mg, Iron 11 mg , Phosphorus 585 mg, Magnesium 420 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Copper 1.2 mg, Manganese 3 mg, Sodium 190 mg, Potassium 600 mg.

Important: You’ll notice there’s no protein source listed above (other than the fact that it’s obviously plant-based). None of the Gundry MD customer support reps we spoke with during our research could provide additional insight and only stated that it’s proprietary information.

Nonetheless, we already discussed that your protein needs depend on important factors like activity level, age, muscle mass, physique goals, and current health. It’s much the same with many of ProPlant’s other ingredients, which are often dosed based on age and gender.

From a high-level perspective, though, each of these ingredients represents between about 10% and 200% of the daily dietary reference intake (DRI) for adults.

As a result, to ensure you’re not ingesting too much on a regular basis, be sure to have an in-depth conversation with your doctor, who might need to order the appropriate blood work in advance.

Could Gundry MD’s ProPlant Complete Cause Side Effects?

Along these same lines, the Gundry MD website emphasizes that ProPlant “was formulated for maximum all-natural purity, [so] it should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people,” However, they emphasize that you’ll want to make an appointment “with your physician before using any supplement.”

How Much Does ProPlant Complete by Gundry MD Cost?

If purchased on the main GundryMD.com website, customers will pay:

  • 1 Jar (41.34 oz, enough for 20 servings): $112
  • 2 Jars: $200 ($100 each)
  • 3 Jars: $285 ($95 each)

On the other hand, if ordered from the company’s TheProteinParadox.com micro-site, prices drop considerably to:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 each)
  • 3 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 each)

All orders come with free shipping, as well as 90-day money-back guarantee, less return S&H. Customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

How to Choose Between ProPlant Complete and Other Protein Powder Supplements

According to Grand View Research, as of 2016, the global protein supplements market was valued at $12.4 billion, which they estimate will show “significant growth” through 2025 as a greater number of consumers continue adopting healthy lifestyles.

As a result, it might not come as much as a surprise that there are perhaps thousands of different protein powder formulations available online, as well as at just about any brick and mortar store with a supplements section.

When searching for one, Bodybuilding.com’s Clayton South recommends focusing on options that include essential amino acids like “tryptophan, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, valine, isoleucine, leucine,” as well as a mix of branch-chain amino acids (BCAAs).

Clayton points out that the protein source is important as well, especially when it comes to plant-based supplements. Why? In most instances, plant protein—whether ProPlant Complete or a third-party brand—is considered incomplete, since it doesn’t contain all of the essential amino acids found in animal-based sources.

For example, Healthline explains that brown rice protein is generally considered an inferior source, since it’s “too low in lysine,” as is hemp protein. On the other hand, pea protein “has been shown to promote fullness and increase muscle growth as effectively as animal-based protein sources” in limited studies.

As a result, if you’re looking to gain muscle or lose weight, they point out that whey or casein protein powder might work best. On the other hand, vegetarians and vegans focused on plant-based options might want to explore those that include a variety of sources, including pea.

While protein source, what you’re looking to accomplish, and dietary restrictions might be your top three factors to consider while you’re exploring protein powders, when it comes to the manufacturer, other important factors include:

  • Do they support their claims with clinical evidence?
  • Do they stand behind their supplements with at least a 30-day refund policy, with reasonable S&H charges and no restocking fees?
  • Do they come with mostly positive online customer feedback?

Is Gundry MD’s ProPlant Complete Shake the Right Option for You?

Gundry MD has been in been in business for several years and has released many popular supplements in that time, including Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Total Restore, to name just a few. They also come with exceedingly high customer reviews, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online.

The company stands behind ProPlant and all of their other supplements with a 90-day money back guarantee (less return S&H charges) and no restocking fees.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we’re not told what the supplement’s protein source is, despite several calls to customer support. So, depending on your preferences, it might not contain all of the essential amino acids you need.

Finally, at as much as $112 per jar (about $5.60 per serving), if ordered from the main Gundry MD site, ProPlant Complete is the most expensive protein supplement we’ve encountered to date. As a result, if you’re going to place an order, we’d recommend doing so from their TheProteinParadox.com URL, which offers significantly lower prices.

» Related: Ketogenic Diet: A Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide


Read 153 ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 96 4 star: 26 3 star: 8 2 star: 6 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 84% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 153
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Not what I expected and bought too many

    • Elk Grove, CA,
    • Oct 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Every time I try this shake, I can't get it so I can drink it. I use a spoon to drink it! I try ice, more water or frozen fruit. Nothing thins it out! It also has a yucky aftertaste. It's an aftertaste that is like the taste of sweetener when dieting. Yuck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Love the taste

    • East Northport, NY,
    • Oct 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree with some of the reviews, it comes out like pudding. I love pudding but is there a way to make it creamy with less thickness? I'll wait for your reply.

    P.S. I like the shake better than other ones out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Should be marketed as slimy pudding

    I loved Dr. Gundry's book and was anxious to try this shake. The taste is not bad, however, I could not get it down. Even tried to put in a bowl and eat it, but no go. Slimy like egg whites. YUCK...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 15, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Christine, I'm very sorry that this was your experience with our ProPlant Complete Shake. Some of our customers have seen success thinning out the shake by using more water in their mixture. We appreciate you giving the product a try! Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund for your order.


  • ProPlant Complete Shake

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really tried to enjoy this product because of all of the health benefits, however, the taste was not optimal. It was very thick and I did not like the texture. I tried to add more coconut milk but still a no-go.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Daniela, thank you for giving the ProPlant Complete Shake a try! I'm very sorry to hear that the taste wasn't to your liking. I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number attached to this review. Please expect a confirmation email in 1-2 business days. If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to help.


  • I have tried to drink this

    • Washington,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This sounded like just what I needed to help lose the extra 20 lbs I've gained over the years. I was expecting something I could mix some fruit into and replace a meal every day or so, but I haven't been able to find a way to mix it where it is drinkable. I used my Magic Bullet with almond milk and it would hardly pour out so I changed to water in a shaker jar and it was still way too gelatinous. I could pour it into a glass but had a hard time with the consistency getting it down. The taste is not bad but it comes out like thick molasses. If you could just change the consistency it would be great, but as it is I can't drink it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Bob. I am Aria and I am with Gundry MD. I am sorry to read that our ProPlant Complete Shake was not the best choice for you. We have many customers that have seen great results by adding more water to the recipe, but we understand that results may vary. As a courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund for your trouble. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com so that I may assist you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I wish you a wonderful day.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Undrinkable

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like Dr. Gundry and his research and wanted to like this drink. It is a gelatinous, even stringy mess. I tried many ways of thinning it out to make it into a drink instead of literal gel. The taste was fine, but you won't be able to get it down. I was afraid to pour it down my sink for fear of it clogging it up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Melissa, I'm very sorry to read that our ProPlant Complete Shake wasn't the right fit for you. Some of our customers have seen success mixing the powder with more added water if they don't like the consistency. But, I'd like to offer you a full refund. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can get that process started for you immediately.


  • So far I'm pleased!

    • West Caldwell, NJ,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The 45-minute commercial video appeared on my Instragam page. I found it very interesting once I was looking for a shake to replace a mid-morning meal. I've been working out at the gym in my mornings, taking my healthy lifestyle very seriously. So, I ordered the 3 jars shake. I have to admit that I'm only mixing one scoop on a 16.9 oz bottle of water, I guess I did not read the instructions, lol. Well, I love the taste, I feel very satisfied until my lunch meal (around 2 in the afternoon), even with one scoop. Tomorrow I'll try with 2 scoops, but I would like to hear if one is fine. Maybe that's why many complain about it being so thick. I did 5 stars because it is working for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Thick, gelatinous and choking

    • Montreal, Canada,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really was excited after viewing the video. I only have myself to blame for allowing my enthusiasm to get the better of me which sadly made me order multiple containers of ProPlant Complete Shake. I am upset with myself for not having been more careful.

    The shake is so gelatinous that it almost makes you gag. I have tried adding more water and putting it in a blender, all to no avail. For me, it is undrinkable.

    I am so upset and angry with this product and the company that produces it that I threw it all out. It’s not a question of a refund but having been deceived by a slick presentation and their undrinkable product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 26, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Sam, I'm sorry to read that this was your experience with ProPlant Complete Shake. The thickness of the shake is due to the high fiber and protein content - 10g per serving. We've had some customers share that they've seen success by adding more water to the mixture, but we do understand that everybody is different. Thank you for giving the product a try and I apologize that this wasn't the right fit. I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number you included with your review. Please expect a confirmation in 1-2 business days and if you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT buy

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Sep 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy!

    I think all the 5-star reviews are fake. There is NO WAY anyone can stand the slimy consistency of this shake.

    I try to barely shake and sip quickly with a straw before it turns to slime. And I use water - at least 12 ounces. Coconut milk with all its thickeners makes it worse!

    I cannot believe it was tested before it was released for sale. Expensive too. Live and learn - but in a bad way. I will not buy from Gundry again. I mean never. Please read reviews before you buy anything.

    The prebiotic product doesn't mix with water either. It doesn't taste bad, but what were they thinking?! I just wanted a healthy gut.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 23, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Laura, I want to assure you that we in no way manipulate any of our reviews. They are authentic shares from our customers. But, I'm very sorry to read that our ProPlant Complete Shake was not the right fit for you. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to refund your order fully!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Sep 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't believe the consistency and texture of this protein drink...you can't drink it, it's so slimy and like gelatine, it's more like a dessert meal than a protein drink.

    I feel you should have explained the texture and consistency of this drink in your ads instead of leading everyone to believe it's a protein drink you can have on the run...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 23, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Jay, thank you for giving the product a try. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the texture of our ProPlant Complete Shake. I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number you've attached to your review! If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • Great shakes

    • Newfoundland, Canada,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The flavor is delicious and it’s packed full of vitamins. I just love this shake and would definitely recommend it to a friend. The texture is thick but I don’t mind that as the flavor compensates for that. I have my shake mid-morning and it is very satisfying.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 23, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Mena, thank you for giving the ProPlant Complete Shake a try! I'm so happy to read that you're enjoying it! If you ever have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com!


Showing 1-11 of 153

Write a Review for ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review