About ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Aug 2, 2018

Each chocolate-flavored serving of ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD contains 20g of plant protein, along with a blend of fiber, to “support optimum tissue repair, appetite regulation, and fat metabolism.”

Together, the company claims you’ll experience improved energy, reduced cravings, increased fullness after meals, stronger muscles and bones, a more balanced mood, boosted energy, and supported heart, brain, and eye health.

The Gundry MD website advertises you simply need to mix two scoops of ProPlant Complete into the beverage of your choice and enjoy. When consumed regularly, we’re told most customers report a different within a few days, while for others it may take two to three weeks.

Can you really achieve all of these benefits—including weight management and whole body health—by drinking a once-daily shake like ProPlant Complete? This is the central question we’ll help you answer in this article.

The Importance of Protein for Good Health

In addition to carbohydrates and fats, protein is a macronutrient that Neil Osterweil explains is broken down by the body into amino acids.

Then, these amino acids are used by every cell in the body to “build and repair tissues” and to “make enzymes, hormones, and other body chemicals.” They’re also “an important building block of bones, muscles, cartilage, skin, and blood,” he says.

Based on the current Dietary Reference Intake (DRI) guidelines, Healthline reports the average sedentary woman needs about 46 grams of protein per day, while the average sedentary man needs about 56 grams per day.

However, this is only to prevent deficiency, and your specific protein needs could be much higher, depending on “activity level, age, muscle mass, physique goals, and current state of health.”

This is where powdered dietary supplements like ProPlant Complete come in, by boosting the amount of protein available to the body. But, is the fact that it’s plant-based an advantage?

Animal vs. Plant-Based Protein

A different Healthline article reports that, compared to animal-based protein (such as whey), plant proteins are typically incomplete, in that they don’t contain all of the amino acids necessary for muscle rebuilding, etc. So, from a sheer biological perspective, animal-based proteins most closely match what’s found in your body.

On the flip side, Kedist Tedla at the American Council on Science and Health reports that food-based animal protein sources (especially processed meats) can significantly increase a person’s risk of mortality. However, much of this concern is alleviated when it comes to protein powder supplements since many of the harmful substances are no longer present.

ProPlant Complete Shake Ingredients and Nutrition Information

Each ProPlant Complete Shake contains 240 calories, with 70 grams of fat (1.5 g of saturated fat) and just one gram of sugar. Additional ingredients include:

Protein 20 g, Thiamin 0.6 mg, Riboflavin 0.2 mg, Niacin 4.6 mg, Vitamin B6 0.3 mg, Folate 82 mcg, Calcium 140 mg, Iron 11 mg , Phosphorus 585 mg, Magnesium 420 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Copper 1.2 mg, Manganese 3 mg, Sodium 190 mg, Potassium 600 mg.

Important: You’ll notice there’s no protein source listed above (other than the fact that it’s obviously plant-based). None of the Gundry MD customer support reps we spoke with during our research could provide additional insight and only stated that it’s proprietary information.

Nonetheless, we already discussed that your protein needs depend on important factors like activity level, age, muscle mass, physique goals, and current health. It’s much the same with many of ProPlant’s other ingredients, which are often dosed based on age and gender.

From a high-level perspective, though, each of these ingredients represents between about 10% and 200% of the daily dietary reference intake (DRI) for adults.

As a result, to ensure you’re not ingesting too much on a regular basis, be sure to have an in-depth conversation with your doctor, who might need to order the appropriate blood work in advance.

Could Gundry MD’s ProPlant Complete Cause Side Effects?

Along these same lines, the Gundry MD website emphasizes that ProPlant “was formulated for maximum all-natural purity, [so] it should be effective and safe for daily use for the vast majority of people,” However, they emphasize that you’ll want to make an appointment “with your physician before using any supplement.”

How Much Does ProPlant Complete by Gundry MD Cost?

If purchased on the main GundryMD.com website, customers will pay:

  • 1 Jar (41.34 oz, enough for 20 servings): $112
  • 2 Jars: $200 ($100 each)
  • 3 Jars: $285 ($95 each)

On the other hand, if ordered from the company’s TheProteinParadox.com micro-site, prices drop considerably to:

  • 1 Jar: $49.95
  • 3 Jars: $134.85 ($44.95 each)
  • 3 Jars: $254.70 ($42.45 each)

All orders come with free shipping, as well as 90-day money-back guarantee, less return S&H. Customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

How to Choose Between ProPlant Complete and Other Protein Powder Supplements

According to Grand View Research, as of 2016, the global protein supplements market was valued at $12.4 billion, which they estimate will show “significant growth” through 2025 as a greater number of consumers continue adopting healthy lifestyles.

As a result, it might not come as much as a surprise that there are perhaps thousands of different protein powder formulations available online, as well as at just about any brick and mortar store with a supplements section.

When searching for one, Bodybuilding.com’s Clayton South recommends focusing on options that include essential amino acids like “tryptophan, lysine, methionine, phenylalanine, threonine, valine, isoleucine, leucine,” as well as a mix of branch-chain amino acids (BCAAs).

Clayton points out that the protein source is important as well, especially when it comes to plant-based supplements. Why? In most instances, plant protein—whether ProPlant Complete or a third-party brand—is considered incomplete, since it doesn’t contain all of the essential amino acids found in animal-based sources.

For example, Healthline explains that brown rice protein is generally considered an inferior source, since it’s “too low in lysine,” as is hemp protein. On the other hand, pea protein “has been shown to promote fullness and increase muscle growth as effectively as animal-based protein sources” in limited studies.

As a result, if you’re looking to gain muscle or lose weight, they point out that whey or casein protein powder might work best. On the other hand, vegetarians and vegans focused on plant-based options might want to explore those that include a variety of sources, including pea.

While protein source, what you’re looking to accomplish, and dietary restrictions might be your top three factors to consider while you’re exploring protein powders, when it comes to the manufacturer, other important factors include:

  • Do they support their claims with clinical evidence?
  • Do they stand behind their supplements with at least a 30-day refund policy, with reasonable S&H charges and no restocking fees?
  • Do they come with mostly positive online customer feedback?

Is Gundry MD’s ProPlant Complete Shake the Right Option for You?

Gundry MD has been in been in business for several years and has released many popular supplements in that time, including Vital Reds, Primal Plants, Prebiothrive, and Total Restore, to name just a few. They also come with exceedingly high customer reviews, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online.

The company stands behind ProPlant and all of their other supplements with a 90-day money back guarantee (less return S&H charges) and no restocking fees.

It’s important to balance these positives with the fact that we’re not told what the supplement’s protein source is, despite several calls to customer support. So, depending on your preferences, it might not contain all of the essential amino acids you need.

Finally, at as much as $112 per jar (about $5.60 per serving), if ordered from the main Gundry MD site, ProPlant Complete is the most expensive protein supplement we’ve encountered to date. As a result, if you’re going to place an order, we’d recommend doing so from their TheProteinParadox.com URL, which offers significantly lower prices.

» Related: Ketogenic Diet: A Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide


Read 164 ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 98 4 star: 27 3 star: 8 2 star: 7 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 164
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Brea, CA,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I were so excited watching the video and were sold on the product. We actually ordered eighteen jars because of the price break we receive when ordering a large quantity. Each time we tried to drink it, we gagged. It was a huge disappointment. We tried several different ways to make it palatable but the slimy consistency is just horrible. I told my husband it seems like trying to drink chocolate mud.

    We would like a full refund because you guarantee 90 days and it's been less than 30 days since we purchased it. I'm sorry this does not work for us because we had high hopes that this would have helped our energy level and everything that was promised.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 9, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Marlene, thank you for giving the product a try. I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number you've included with this review. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you!


  • Better sleep

    • El Paso, TX,
    • Dec 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased 3 containers that I feel was very pricey.

    My first day of trying it; I used the shaker and I DID NOT even put that stuff in my mouth. The look was disgusting. I kept it for a little while before attempting to send it back, then I received a call from customer service to see how everything is doing. I couldn’t explain my experience at the time because I had company. Before hanging up with me the Representative suggested that I blend with a banana, spinach, and a little ice.

    I am glad he reached out because I now take the powder daily and the consistency is 10000% better than that shaker bottle. It’s only been a week and I’ve noticed my energy level is starting to balance out. I wake up feeling AWAKE. It has also calmed down my menopausal night sweats. Come to think about it, I haven’t been waking up several times in the middle of the night. If just 1 week has helped, imagine 1 month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 scoops?

    • California,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On my 6th container of this product. Firstly, what's with the 2 scoops? Directions state one scoop. That might be the issue regarding some of the complaints about trying to drink it. 2 scoops would make it like trying to drink liquid cement. It DOES help me a lot regarding BM's. My only complaint is the ridiculously overpriced product. I could buy groceries for 2 weeks for the cost of 3 containers. That in itself makes it nearly unattainable. Hence the 4 stars instead of 5.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Chocolate Slime

    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really looking forward to better health and a leaner body so I ordered three containers of this product. I tried to drink this shake twice. The first time, I shook it vigorously in a sports bottle and what I got was a mucusy concoction. The flavor was good but the texture was so disgusting that I threw most of the shake away. I ordered a blender cup and today I tried again. Same result despite being very well blended. This product turns to a big gelatinous lump that is impossible to drink. Clumps slide into your mouth and mucusy strands stuck to the sides of the cup slightly slow the clump from slipping and sliding right out. I had to throw it out a second time. It slid into the garbage disposal in one piece. I am hoping for a full refund because this stuff is disgusting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 2, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      I'm very sorry to read about your experience with our ProPlant Complete Shake. Many of our customers have enjoyed this shake by adding more water to the mixture to help thin it out. But, I understand if this consistency is not the right fit for you. Thank you for giving the product a try! Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Thank you.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So slimy and thick it triggered my gag reflex

    • New York, NY,
    • Nov 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really hoping for this to work. I hoped to use it as a meal replacement for when I’m too busy to have lunch in the office or when I get home too late to eat dinner. I followed the instructions and blended the milk and shake powder in my NutriBullet. The first sip was good, in fact, I was surprised at how good it tasted. Within seconds, it thickened up so much and it was simply too repulsive to drink.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 26, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Elaine, I'm sorry this was your experience with our ProPlant Complete Shake. I encourage you to add some more water to the mixture but if you continue to experience the same consistency, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund. Thank you for giving the product a try!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Turns into a thick glob

    • Houston, TX,
    • Nov 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I listened to the audio version of Dr. Gundry’s book (content was really great and interesting, audiobook reader was horrendous in case you were wondering). I decided to try his shake mix because it’s hard to find anything out there without any soy/corn/gluten etc. Just so you’re aware, the ordering process is a bit deceptive - when you go to complete your order, if you choose to "upgrade" your order, there is no "review before the total order is placed" page and the upgrade does not replace your existing order, it adds on.

    As far as the actual shake goes, when you add liquid (water or coconut milk, I tried both) the mixture becomes one giant glob of thick sludge. It got so thick, when I tipped my shaker bottle up to drink it, nothing came out, lol! It’s almost like swallowing a loogie, it’s so bad. It’s like someone put too much gelatin in the batch and then there’s some kind of slimy texture in there too.

    I have experimented to try to smooth it out and nothing works. You literally have to add liters of water to one scoop so that it’s so watered down, this is very impractical and doesn’t taste good at that point. So the "try adding more water" advice does not work. I also used a shaker bottle and that did not work. So disappointed I spent so much on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 25, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Angelle, I'm very sorry that our ProPlant Complete Shake was not the right fit for you. I want to thank you for giving it a try. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. I look forward to hearing from you soon!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Looks nasty!

    • Chula Vista, CA,
    • Nov 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved Dr. Gundry's ideas and passion, but this shake needs a little more time in the lab. When I made the shake it looked so nasty I thought I made it wrong. I bought this two months ago, I wanted to start the shake after my surgery but I can’t drink this, I tried. Takes really good. Just needs to work on that slimy thing, make it into a real shake. I would love to buy this again when it right. For now, I would not recommend it to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Cinthya, thank you for giving the product a try! Some of our customers have seen success using a shaker bottle or adding more water to help dissolve the powder or thin out the shake. But we do understand that ProPlant Complete Shake is not for everybody so I ask that you email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Wishing you a quick recovery!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Too thick to consume

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really love Dr. Gundry's products but this shake is just too thick to get down. I've tried everything to thin it out but nothing works. In the video they claim to have sent the product back to the lab several times to get it just right, I can't imagine what the other attempts were like if this is what they settled on. Almost $300 worth of product that I can't benefit from. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Melissa, I'm very sorry this was your experience with our ProPlant Complete Shake. I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to our Product Development team. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Thank you for giving the product a try.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Too thick to drink

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to order this and start feeling healthier and losing a few pounds but it is too thick to mix by hand or in a blender. The taste is not bad but like others, I was excited and ordered 3 jars! I added lots of water but it just seems to get thicker. Where can I send my other 2 jars back to receive a refund? I guess I will keep the first jar since I opened it and used it once.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 25, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Donna, I'm very sorry you were unable to enjoy our ProPlant Complete Shake! Thank you for giving the product a try. I've gone ahead and refunded the order number attached to this review. If you have any other questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    My recipe for this shake!

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use a NutriBullet. First I put in some berries and a banana. Next a tsp of almond butter. Next 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil. Then one and a half cups of almond milk. Then I add 5 to 6 cubes of ice and lastly and this is important, I add a scoop of collagen and a scoop of the shake so when I invert my NutriBullet container, the powders are next to the ice and the blades. I blend for 45 seconds. Delicious with a perfect consistency. This is a meal replacement recipe, since it has the extra calories. Hope this helps those with a too thick consistency.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Gundry's protein drink undrinkable

    • Riverside, CA,
    • Oct 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I could not believe how bad this product turns out after you mix it. Thick, gooey, unpalatable. Why?

    The company has to definitely reformulate this product. I am sure it is a healthy product but won't help if you cannot get it down. Food manufacturers do magical stuff with their products so cannot imagine how this passed the final taste test.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello, I'm very sorry to read that you did not enjoy our ProPlant Complete Shake. We take all customer feedback seriously so I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our Product Development team. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


Showing 1-11 of 164

Write a Review for ProPlant Complete Shake by Gundry MD!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review