Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake Reviews - Is It Hype or Legit?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: May 20, 2020

What Is ProPlant Complete Shake?

ProPlant Complete Shake from Gundry MD is a supplement that allegedly improves energy, reduced cravings, increased fullness after meals, stronger muscles and bones, a more balanced mood, boosted energy, and supported heart, brain, and eye health.

The Gundry MD website advertises you need to mix two scoops of ProPlant Complete into the beverage of your choice.

Can you achieve all of these benefits—including weight management and whole-body health—by drinking a once-daily shake like ProPlant Complete?

This article addresses the efficacy of its ingredients, safety, and whether it's the right supplement for you.

The Importance of Protein for Good Health

Proteins are macromolecules that are comprised of long amino acid chains. There are 20 amino acids in total, and 9 of these are essential and must be obtained from your diet.

Proteins have a hand in virtually every chemical reaction in your body. They play large roles in functions like chemical signaling, immunity, and muscle function.

Exactly how much protein do you need? The answer can vary depending on who you ask.

The American Dietetic Association's (ADA) recommends obtaining about 0.36g/lb. of bodyweight from a well-balanced diet. This ratio is often much higher for those in athletic competition; bodybuilders, powerlifters, and other athletes can consume protein at more than 2x their bodyweight

As protein is available from both plant and animal-based foods, the question remains - is taking a plant-based supplement an advantage?

Ingredients and Scientific Support

Each ProPlant Complete Shake contains 240 calories, with 70 grams of fat (1.5 g of saturated fat) and just one gram of sugar. Additional ingredients include:

Protein 20 g, Thiamin 0.6 mg, Riboflavin 0.2 mg, Niacin 4.6 mg, Vitamin B6 0.3 mg, Folate 82 mcg, Calcium 140 mg, Iron 11 mg, Phosphorus 585 mg, Magnesium 420 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Copper 1.2 mg, Manganese 3 mg, Sodium 190 mg, Potassium 600 mg.

Important: You'll notice there's no protein source listed above (other than the fact that it's plant-based). None of the Gundry MD customer support reps we spoke with during our research could provide additional insight and only stated that it's proprietary information.

Based on the ADA's recommendations, a 175lb adult would need 60-65g of protein daily, whereas an athlete at this same weight may consume 2-3x more.

As your ProPlant Complete Shake contains just 20g, the vast majority of your protein must come from your diet even if you're not in competition.

In one study, the effects of 24g of pea were compared to whey protein before and after strenuous exercise. Over 2-months, pea and whey protein supplements produced similar outcomes for body composition, muscle thickness, force production, athletic performance, and strength.

Low dietary protein intake is associated with age-related muscle loss. In elderly individuals, plant-based protein was even better than animal sources at preventing this loss.

In a review of 9 studies, soy protein was found to produce similar results in terms of muscle mass and strength when compared to animal-based sources of protein.

The other purported benefits of ProPlant Complete are not well-supported. Fiber may affect appetite, though the available evidence for this action is mixed at best.

On the other hand, research supporting plant-based protein's ability to build muscle, enhance strength, improve performance, and prevent age-related declines are ample.

Are There Any Possible Side Effects?

Protein supplements are generally low-risk. You're already obtaining this macronutrient in most of the plant and animal-based foods in your diet.

The adverse effects of consuming too much protein are rare. Our bodies don't use excess efficiently, however. If too much is present, your kidneys, bones, and liver can be negatively affected.

Signs you've consumed too much can include dehydration, stomach pain, nausea, headaches, or diarrhea.

Speak to your physician before making drastic alterations in your diet to minimize the risk for harm

What Does It Cost?

ProPlant Complete is available only at the GundryMD website; here, you'll pay:

  • 1 Jar: (41.34 oz, enough for 20 servings): $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $188.85
  • 6 Jars: $353.70

All orders come with free shipping, as well as a 90-day money-back guarantee, less return S&H. Customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

What Are the Alternatives to ProPlant Complete?

There are a number of brands that similarly intend to offer a convenient protein supplement for those who opt for vegan or vegetarian diets.

Vega is one such example. They offer a line of low-calorie, high-protein pea-based protein powders. Some are also bolstered with vitamins and minerals. You'll spend around $100 on their site for about 45 servings.

Similar comprehensive blends seem to fall somewhere in between the pricing for ProPlant Complete and Vega. Supplements that don't include vitamins and minerals, as well as those that offer fewer servings, may be one way of saving money.

You can also obtain plant-based protein naturally from foods like corn, broccoli, lentils, spinach, and peas.

The Bottom Line – Is This the Right Option for You?

Plant-based protein supplements such as ProPlant Complete are backed with science that has demonstrated their ability to offer muscle and strength related benefits. The other claims made by Gundry MD are less clear.

Despite its high cost, ProPlant Complete also has stellar customer reviews, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online.

Some of the financial risk is relieved as the company stands behind ProPlant and all of their other supplements with a 90-day money-back guarantee (less return S&H charges).

It's important to balance these positives with the fact that it's unknown what the supplement's protein source is, despite several calls to customer support. Depending on your preferences, it might not contain all of the essential amino acids you need.

You won't save by opting for other similar formulations, though purchasing a plant-based protein that lacks the vitamin and mineral content and ranges between 20-30 servings won't drain your bank account.

The harm of protein supplements is minimal, though not impossible. Limit the risk by speaking with your doctor.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake:
  • 282 Customer Reviews
  • 84% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 69% 4 star: 12% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 12%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Not drinkable! Absolutely gross consistency.

    • By Paula P.,
    • New Zealand,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    It’s the most terrible shake I’ve ever come across! So bad that I’ve had to throw it out. It’s not like a shake at all. It has the consistency of glue. Absolutely revolting! Highly disappointed. How this product can be marketed as a shake really makes me angry. A total waste of money.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • The consistency is not that of a shake at all
    • It’s like glue
    • Not drinkable

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Best I've tried

    • By Greg T.,
    • Huntington, IN,
    • Aug 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was skeptical about trying another shake and being dissapointed in a thin chalky mess. What a great surprise. It was deliciously chocolate and the thickness reminded me of brownie batter.

    It filled me up and gave me energy throughout the day.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Taste
    • Thickness
    • Effects
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProPlant Complete Shake

    • By John A.,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jul 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    It is early days for me having just received my product The taste is great, the results are instant regarding hunger control. The sweetener is not a very good aftertaste.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The first thing I notice is it stops hunger
    • The taste is great except for the Stevia
    • The Stevia is really an after taste, not nice but bearable
    • The artificial sweetener is really overpowering
    • I suggest you change the Stevia for a little sugar

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Still early days but definitely worth trying

    • By Glenys R.,
    • Richmond, New Zealand,
    • Jul 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Feel lighter in my stomach and don't feel hungry.

    Very healthy product. Would like to see some reduction in my measurements but maybe too early at this stage.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Very easy to mix and drink
    • Lovely and chocolatey and healthy
    • No horrible after taste
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent shake

    • By Randall M.,
    • Salisbury, MD,
    • Jul 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I am really enjoying both the flavor and the satiety of the Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake. I highly recommend this product.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Taste
    • Filling
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Filling but not heavy

    • By Nicole K.,
    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I started using this product about 3 weeks ago and love how it gets me through to lunchtime without issue. I don’t feel as hungry throughout the day and tend to eat less at dinner. I’m not a chocolate fan normally but this has a great taste and I’ve been drinking it 5 days a week.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use, mixes well
    • Keeps me full
    • I know it’s good for me
    • I wish it came in vanilla

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great shake breakthrough

    • By Walton W.,
    • Santa Maria, CA,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The shake has done everything Dr. Gundry stated it would do. I substitute it for my lunch meal 4 to 5 times a week. Tastes great, do not feel hungry the rest of the afternoon, and I have more energy. I finally dropped below 237 pounds which I had been stuck at for months.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Tastes great
    • Satisfies hunger
    • Easy to make
    • Takes a lot of stirring to get the powder to dissolve, but great exercise

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Heal your body!

    • By Robert P.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have severe acid reflux and used to spend most of the day stressing over the side effects of GERDs. My whole digestive tract feels relived when drinking the ProPlant...helps with controlling bloating and inflammation. I feel so much better digestive wise and it helps control appetite.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Tastes great
    • Consistency nice and thick
    • It’s very healthy
    • Have to use less with a hand shaker bottle

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Feel great, losing weight

    • By Jeff F.,
    • Boulder, CO,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Have been doing the shake for about a month and I feel great. Feel lighter, stronger, don't get winded, and am losing weight. From 200lbs to 185lbs. I'm 75 years old and was feeling like I was on a slippery slope to decline. Now I feel like I have a lot of life to live.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It works
    • Easy
    • Tastes great
    • Had to buy a lot of product to get discounts

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very good

    • By Colleen O.,
    • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada,
    • Jul 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The flavor, chocolate, is excellent. It's very rich and creamy and very delicious. The consistency of the shake becomes very thick quite quickly so I experimented with different amounts of liquid, I use 1% milk, and soon found the optimum combination of liquid to powder. I also discovered that it's best to drink the shake right away after mixing it as it becomes thicker if I let it sit. This is the reason why I gave it less than an excellent rating, otherwise, I am very pleased with the ProPlant shake powder!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Flavor
    • Powder dissolves quickly
    • Satisfies my appetite for a long time
    • The consistency becomes too thick if it isn't drunk immediately

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Big hopes

    • By Cheryl H.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have only been taking the product for the last 6 days, as my order was held in customs coming into the United Kingdom.

    Having a fair amount of weight to lose, caused from a major traffic accident last year, and recovery only happened in lockdown from the virus, has meant I have been immobile, and my weight went up.

    Being in lockdown due to the pandemic, I have spent more time on the internet, I wasn't looking for a weight loss product, but this product caught my attention, because it has 3 amazing ingredients.

    The main one, being spirulina, which is a blue-green algae that supports every system in the body, if I hadn't taken a sabbatical from my medical herbal studies, was going to do my thesis titled Manna from Heaven, as from my interest in the blue-greens, is where all life forms came from. The blue-green algae which is the beautiful turquoise aura seen around planet earth. Which formed the oceans and from where life started. So makes perfect sense for this to be the number one ingredient to support all our body systems. Cold-pressed from the Pacific Ocean around the Hawaiian Islands is said to be the finest in the world.

    The Manna that was given by God to the Israelites is said to be a form of this algae, as extremely nutritious and being a pure protein.

    Hemp and Flax seeds are 2nd and 3rd ingredients, that caught my attention to this product. They are known to be anti-cancer, and in fact reverse some tumors, from my studies for seeds, found that if everyone ate a handful of seeds every day, we would have a world free of cancer.

    Because it is very difficult to break down the hard casing of the seeds to ingest their nutrients having them crushed and blended in a powdered form as part of the ingredients to Bio Complete Shake, was another reason for choosing this product.

    The chocolate was my main concern, as I am not a lover of chocolate, dislike chocolate flavored things, but, because of the health-giving ingredients over the chocolate decided that I would take this product, not only for the weight loss, but for their very high nutrient properties.

    As I say it is early days in taking this product, and to get around the flavor of the chocolate, which I am beginning to get used to, I eat an organic banana whilst drinking the shake.

    I invested heavily with this product, as I believe in the daily supplementation of Spirulina, Hemp, and Flax, that I still have big hopes for the long term result in weight loss by taking this product.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Spirulina is an integral part of this product
    • Hemp is anti-cancer, anti-tumor
    • Flax as anti-cancer, anti tumor
    • The chocolate, I'm not a lover of chocolate
    • The texture, but getting used to that
    • Heavy going on the mixing to break down the powders

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 282

Write a Review for Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake Reviews