Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake Reviews - Is It Hype or Legit?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: May 20, 2020

What Is ProPlant Complete Shake?

ProPlant Complete Shake from Gundry MD is a supplement that allegedly improves energy, reduced cravings, increased fullness after meals, stronger muscles and bones, a more balanced mood, boosted energy, and supported heart, brain, and eye health.

The Gundry MD website advertises you need to mix two scoops of ProPlant Complete into the beverage of your choice.

Can you achieve all of these benefits—including weight management and whole-body health—by drinking a once-daily shake like ProPlant Complete?

This article addresses the efficacy of its ingredients, safety, and whether it's the right supplement for you.

The Importance of Protein for Good Health

Proteins are macromolecules that are comprised of long amino acid chains. There are 20 amino acids in total, and 9 of these are essential and must be obtained from your diet.

Proteins have a hand in virtually every chemical reaction in your body. They play large roles in functions like chemical signaling, immunity, and muscle function.

Exactly how much protein do you need? The answer can vary depending on who you ask.

The American Dietetic Association's (ADA) recommends obtaining about 0.36g/lb. of bodyweight from a well-balanced diet. This ratio is often much higher for those in athletic competition; bodybuilders, powerlifters, and other athletes can consume protein at more than 2x their bodyweight

As protein is available from both plant and animal-based foods, the question remains - is taking a plant-based supplement an advantage?

Ingredients and Scientific Support

Each ProPlant Complete Shake contains 240 calories, with 70 grams of fat (1.5 g of saturated fat) and just one gram of sugar. Additional ingredients include:

Protein 20 g, Thiamin 0.6 mg, Riboflavin 0.2 mg, Niacin 4.6 mg, Vitamin B6 0.3 mg, Folate 82 mcg, Calcium 140 mg, Iron 11 mg, Phosphorus 585 mg, Magnesium 420 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Copper 1.2 mg, Manganese 3 mg, Sodium 190 mg, Potassium 600 mg.

Important: You'll notice there's no protein source listed above (other than the fact that it's plant-based). None of the Gundry MD customer support reps we spoke with during our research could provide additional insight and only stated that it's proprietary information.

Based on the ADA's recommendations, a 175lb adult would need 60-65g of protein daily, whereas an athlete at this same weight may consume 2-3x more.

As your ProPlant Complete Shake contains just 20g, the vast majority of your protein must come from your diet even if you're not in competition.

In one study, the effects of 24g of pea were compared to whey protein before and after strenuous exercise. Over 2-months, pea and whey protein supplements produced similar outcomes for body composition, muscle thickness, force production, athletic performance, and strength.

Low dietary protein intake is associated with age-related muscle loss. In elderly individuals, plant-based protein was even better than animal sources at preventing this loss.

In a review of 9 studies, soy protein was found to produce similar results in terms of muscle mass and strength when compared to animal-based sources of protein.

The other purported benefits of ProPlant Complete are not well-supported. Fiber may affect appetite, though the available evidence for this action is mixed at best.

On the other hand, research supporting plant-based protein's ability to build muscle, enhance strength, improve performance, and prevent age-related declines are ample.

Are There Any Possible Side Effects?

Protein supplements are generally low-risk. You're already obtaining this macronutrient in most of the plant and animal-based foods in your diet.

The adverse effects of consuming too much protein are rare. Our bodies don't use excess efficiently, however. If too much is present, your kidneys, bones, and liver can be negatively affected.

Signs you've consumed too much can include dehydration, stomach pain, nausea, headaches, or diarrhea.

Speak to your physician before making drastic alterations in your diet to minimize the risk for harm

What Does It Cost?

ProPlant Complete is available only at the GundryMD website; here, you'll pay:

  • 1 Jar: (41.34 oz, enough for 20 servings): $69.95
  • 3 Jars: $188.85
  • 6 Jars: $353.70

All orders come with free shipping, as well as a 90-day money-back guarantee, less return S&H. Customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

What Are the Alternatives to ProPlant Complete?

There are a number of brands that similarly intend to offer a convenient protein supplement for those who opt for vegan or vegetarian diets.

Vega is one such example. They offer a line of low-calorie, high-protein pea-based protein powders. Some are also bolstered with vitamins and minerals. You'll spend around $100 on their site for about 45 servings.

Similar comprehensive blends seem to fall somewhere in between the pricing for ProPlant Complete and Vega. Supplements that don't include vitamins and minerals, as well as those that offer fewer servings, may be one way of saving money.

You can also obtain plant-based protein naturally from foods like corn, broccoli, lentils, spinach, and peas.

The Bottom Line – Is This the Right Option for You?

Plant-based protein supplements such as ProPlant Complete are backed with science that has demonstrated their ability to offer muscle and strength related benefits. The other claims made by Gundry MD are less clear.

Despite its high cost, ProPlant Complete also has stellar customer reviews, here on HighYa as well as elsewhere online.

Some of the financial risk is relieved as the company stands behind ProPlant and all of their other supplements with a 90-day money-back guarantee (less return S&H charges).

It's important to balance these positives with the fact that it's unknown what the supplement's protein source is, despite several calls to customer support. Depending on your preferences, it might not contain all of the essential amino acids you need.

You won't save by opting for other similar formulations, though purchasing a plant-based protein that lacks the vitamin and mineral content and ranges between 20-30 servings won't drain your bank account.

The harm of protein supplements is minimal, though not impossible. Limit the risk by speaking with your doctor.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake:
  • 263 Customer Reviews
  • 83% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 68% 4 star: 12% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 12%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Very frustrated, over shipped, and ProPlant Shake is spoiled

    • By K P.,
    • El Dorado Hills, CA,
    • Jun 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I watched a 45-min podcast on Instagram and thought this product, which includes hemp, would a great way to add hemp into my diet. I purchased three 20-serving tubs then it was not made clear that another discounted offer was being charged to my credit card which was for 6 more tubs.

    The order was late. The shake appears to be spoiled as it clumps up on my whisk in my blender bottle. This resulted in an upset stomach. It did not taste quite right and I only wanted 3 tubs.

    Now I am attempting to return 9 tubs, which is around 15 plus pounds. I knew there was a 90-day money-back guarantee but the catch is now it says that return shipping is on me. 1) I only wanted 3 tubs but the fast flashy ad was misleading, and 2) I was charged a larger for an additional order and it was not made clear that I would need to pay return shipping.

    I have made several phone calls, waited over 30 minutes, and can't get through. I am unable to spend any more time on this issue. I will gladly pack up the shipment but I would like shipping return shipping covered. The product appears spoiled, I was charged for and shipped an additional order and the advertisement was misleading.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • It was spoiled
    • The ad charged me for two orders - misleading
    • It was not clear that the 90-day return did not cover the return shipping

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 3, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello, we're sorry to hear about your experience. It is never our intent to confuse our customers. Any additional offers presented during checkout always have a visible option to decline. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to issue a total refund. In regards to the return process, I've looked into your account and have escalated your issue. Please keep an eye out for an email from our of our agents. Please note that due to high call and email volumes, we are experiencing delays of 2-5 business days. Thank you for your patience.


  • You gotta add that extra?

    • By Allison I.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’m with a lot of reviewers that were chuckling at the absurdity of the texture when I made my first batch...brownie batter comes to mind. So I looked on YouTube, and used Gundry’s OTHER suggestion...add 1 and 1/2 cups plant milk, a shot of espresso, 2 T Olive oil, and a tsp of pure vanilla extract. I slapped it all in the NutriBullet with ice, and stir intermittently as I drink it. It’s delicious. Also...key element: drink a good bit of water before and throughout the next hours after. It really helps hold the full feeling!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Honesty of health benefits
    • I actually felt better within 2 weeks
    • It’s easy and (with altering it) makes a tasty shake
    • Price is high
    • Stevia stays on my tongue
    • Thickness

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Thick...thick

    • By M W B.,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Taste is pretty good; no artificial or "fake" taste. BUT...it is thick...like pudding. I have tried both recipes on the container...and need to find a way to enjoy it because it is too thick and becomes too thick to finish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 29, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Thank you for giving the product a try! I'm happy to read you're enjoying the taste. We recommend adding some more water to help thin out the consistency. Please let me know if you have any other questions! My email is aria@gundrymd.com.


  • Not what I expected

    • By Akiko W.,
    • Georgia,
    • Apr 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have never tried something I saw online but I was convinced this one will be a fit for me and I was excited to try a healthy shake. I got the package today and I immediately opened my box and made for me and my son. It was very thick so I add more water but it became like slimy pudding. My son couldn’t even try it. I usually open for anything that is good for me but this one I forced myself to finish half a glass. I ordered 3 containers but I wish I just ordered 1 to try first. I wonder if I can send them back for a possible refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 28, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Akiko, I want to thank you for giving ProPlant Complete Shake a try. I'm sorry the consistency was too thick for your liking. Some customers have shared that adding more water and blending into a smoothie has thinned out the consistency. If you continue to be dissatisfied, I'd be more than happy to get you refunded. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can take care of that for you! Thank you.


  • Very thick consistency...

    • By Lizzy C.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Apr 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read this product with the same goal as others to improve my health diet. However, the consistency is not your typical protein powder. It has a very thick and slimy texture. My fiancé and I have tried to mix this with all sorts of liquids to see if we could thin out the powder but it’s still pretty thick. It reminds me of eating pudding.

    Unfortunately, we bought 6 of these due to positive reviews and wanting to improve our diet, especially as physicians ourselves, we don’t always have time to eat something quick and healthy. I honestly don’t know if we can finish them because of the unsettling texture.

    Therefore, I emailed them for a possible refund, and they did respond even though they didn’t have an efficient response rate. So the catch that I wish I had known before buying the product was that they do not provide you with the shipping label! Lord knows how much shipping is going to cost me now because it’s going to be a big package! You would think with a big company, it would provide one out of convenience like every other big company you order from. Maybe that’s their way of avoiding people sending the product back.

    So that's my disappointment...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 22, 2020

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Lizzy, I want to start by saying thank you for giving ProPlant Complete Shake a try. I'm very sorry to read that the consistency was not to your liking. We understand that our products are not the right fit for everybody so we will always honor our 90-day money-back guarantee. In regards to our response rate, we ask for up to 72 hours due to the current situation. As it is industry standard, we do ask that our customers ship back their orders but I'd be happy to waive that this time. I'll go ahead and fully process your refund, no need to send anything back. If you have any other questions, my email is aria@gundrymd.com. Please don't hesitate to reach out! Thank you!


  • Expectation vs. Disappointment

    • By Steven F.,
    • Alpharetta, GA,
    • Mar 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My initial experience was a lot like what those who have flatly rejected the product have written about. It just took me a moment of deductive reasoning to figure out why, alter my tactic, then try again for better results.

    Like everyone who purchased this product, I need help, and Dr. Gundry developed a chocolate shake that would provide that help getting good proteins in my body. I figured, "how badly could something like this go?" The first thing I thought of, which was my first mistake, was Nestle's Quik, with the rabbit on the container; not because I thought it would just be an all-pleasure experience, but because that is what I expect to taste when I think of a chocolate powder mix.

    So when it arrived, and I opened the container and smelled that cocoa and tasted a tiny bit of it, my expectation increased. I didn't level off that scoop; I heaped it, just as I would do Nestle's Quik way back when, added that water...and...

    It was laughable. It reminded me of a children's toy where you add water and you get what they horrifyingly call "edible slime". Mixing it with a spoon or blender made no difference. It sloughed around and you could not engage in the act of drinking it so much as chew it, and...yeah, that's enough of that.

    To sum up, I expected Nestle's Quik, and got something else. My expectations are my problem and no one else's; despite that, they were aided by the label on the can. Was the recipe ratio of liquid to powder on the container accurate? My answer to that is a resounding NO, unless you're into bad comedy.

    BUT, I paid for the product, because I needed it, just like the rest of us, and wanted it to be a good experience. I have learned that we are never disappointed by what we find; only by what we EXPECT to find, as the level of disappointment is always equal to the level of expectation.

    So here's what I did, in the hope that this helps someone else who has invested in the product for their own well-being:

    1) I reduced the scoop to about 2/3 instead of filling it. As Han Solo once said (and for this review, I mean it in the way he did not...), "I don't care what you smell!" Nestle's Quik this "ain't".

    2) I didn't try mixing it with a spoon, but instead used a Magic Bullet type blender to keep it from trying to become a gelatinous life form.

    3) I added some vanilla almond milk.

    The result was pretty freakin' tasty. An actual shake with the right amount of thickness. No lumps. The only reason I am not 5-starring this review is because they missed the mix target on the container by about a nautical mile.

    Again, everyone has a different mindset, and I don't expect everyone to concur with my point of view out here, but on the off chance that this helps someone else who shelled out three figures for this to improve their body temple, I hope this review may be of service to you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Tastes good, mixes well.

    • By RJ J.,
    • Minnesota,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good chocolate flavor. I feel complete, full, balanced. Helped my joint pain a little. Great supplement for my pull-ups/push-ups. Filled me up for half a day. I would recommend this formula to my friends, family.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProPlant Shake for lunch

    • By Scott H.,
    • Acton, CA,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been vegetarian/vegan for 8 years. I am using ProPlant shakes for my lunch every other day.

    I am mixing the powder with coconut water in a shaker cup. It is convenient, easy, and tastes great! I am continuing to get leaner and stronger and am 11lbs from my target weight. I expect to be there by Memorial Day.

    I enjoy your products and your email tips.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great protein shake

    • By Kevin S.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a great protein post-workout shake. High-quality plant protein, increases energy and suppresses appetite. I have lost weight since using this product and I feel great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Robert M.,
    • Monroe, GA,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am about 45 days in to taking ProPlant Complete and can’t speak highly enough about it. I was looking for a good plant-based protein to supplement and lessen the amount of animal protein in my diet. Since adding this into my day I have noticed better digestion and less soreness in my joints after my workout. I now look forward to my shake every day and have actually noticed some gains in my muscle mass while keeping the fat off.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I will be always thankful to Dr. Gundry

    • By Blanca G.,
    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Mar 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I started using ProPlant to replace animal meat! I feel so energetic and better than when I was 25. I am an extremely active person, you might say a workaholic and used to be exhausted by the end of the day. After I started using ProPlant I can work without having to deal with exhaustion.

    Thank you, Dr. Gundry! I feel and look good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 263

Write a Review for Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD ProPlant Complete Shake Reviews