About 80 Day Obsession

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jan 12, 2018

Advertised as the latest breakthrough from fitness and nutrition expert Autumn Calabrese, the 80 Day Obsession program promises to help you achieve a total body transformation by sculpting your core, burning away fat, shrinking your waist, and lifting and rounding your butt—in a step-by-step method, all at the same time.

According to Beachbody, the program requires participants to adhere to a demanding set of guidelines involving an “obsessive focus on fitness and nutrition.” Like what?

First, your body will be subjected to a different workout every day to help prevent plateaus, which will be presented in exactly the right sequence to help you maximize results. In addition, a timed nutrition plan will deliver the perfect portions at the right intervals.

And as your “personal Super Trainer and nutrition advisor,” the 80 Day Obsession website advertises that Autumn will provide guidance, advice, and motivation to keep you accountable along the way.

Think you have what it takes to stick with 80 Day Obsession’s challenging workouts and strict diet guidelines? Even then, can you expect it to help transform your body into head-turning shape? Let’s start by taking a closer look at the program’s details.

How Does 80 Day Obsession Work?

According to Beachbody’s nutrition manager Paige Benté, M.S., R.D., C.S.S.D., “the ethos of this program is obsession, [so] there’s not a lot of wiggle room. It combines a strict nutrition program and intense workouts to get maximum results.”

Important: While one of 80 Day’s websites advertised that the program is “for anyone who wants a firm, shaped butt and the flattest abs of their lives,” based on what we just learned, they later clarify that it’s “best for intermediate to advanced fitness levels.”

In other words, they emphasize that it’s not a quick-fix plan, and even though each workout contains a modifier, it won’t lower intensity to a beginner level.

In total, the three-phase program involves 80 workouts, each of which is 30-60 minutes in length and focus on specific areas of the body, such as “Booty, Total Body Core, AAA, Legs, Cardio Core, and Cardio Flow. The website tells us that, while each new phase delivers totally different moves, some may be repeated, although Autumn will continue changing sets and patterns so that your progress is maximized.

While there aren’t any cheat days, there’s one rest day from working out each week, which occurs on Sundays and aren’t counted toward your 80-day total.

Worried that you’re not up to the challenge? Autumn offers a five-day introductory program called A Little Obsessed that can help give you a better idea what to expect. Let’s briefly talk more about this before continuing our discussion about the complete program.

What’s the Difference Between 80 Day Obsession & A Little Obsessed?

Available since 12/20/17, A Little Obsessed features five day’s worth of 30-minute (or shorter) workouts that implement many of the same moves found in 80 Day Obsession. However, compared to the full program’s whole-body focus, this intro option is said to place a strong emphasis on abs and glutes.

You’ll also use much of the same equipment as the full program, including light, medium, and heavy weights, strength slides, resistance loops, and a mat. You’ll receive a full five-day nutrition plan involving Beachbody’s portion-control containers, so you’ll need to purchase these as well.

Finally, access includes the ability to watch Autumn’s quick start tips and eating plan tips videos, as well as a starter guide and workout calendar.

How Does 80-Day Obsession’s Timed Nutrition Plan Work?

Beachbody explains that the timed nutrition approach featured in 80 Day Obsession helps supply your body with the specific macronutrients (fat, protein, or carbohydrates) it needs, at the specific time they’re required, in order maximize muscle building and fat burning.

In this instance, an emphasis is placed on pre-workout meals to help you power through the program’s intense workouts, with post-workout meals focused more on restoring and rebuilding muscle. The website assures us that you’ll receive “a detailed set of guidelines on how you need to schedule your meals for the week” upon signing up.

What Equipment Do You Need for 80 Day Obsession?

The website tells us that the cast of 80 Day Obsession uses weights ranging between five and 40 pounds, so depending on your fitness level, you’ll ideally want a selection of light, medium, and heavy options.

In addition, the program requires the use of Beachbody’s Resistance Loops, Strength Slides, and Portion-Control Containers for the eating plan. Nice to have (but not necessary) is a foam roller and a comfortable mat.

How Much Does 80 Day Obsession Cost?

Unlike many of the company’s other programs, which can be purchased on DVD, 80 Day Obsession is available exclusively on Beachbody on Demand in the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. BOD memberships are priced as follows:

  • 3-Month Plan: $39 (or $140 for the Shakeology Challenge Pack)
  • 6-Month Plan: $59
  • 12-Month Plan: $99 (or $160 for the Shakeology Challenge Pack)

With your membership, you’ll receive access to every Beachbody Workout, additional fitness guides and workout calendars, meal plans and recipes, fitness and nutrition experts, and a free personal coach.

All plans automatically renew for the same price and applicable term, while Shakeology subscriptions involve monthly supplement deliveries.

New Beachbody on Demand subscriptions are risk-free for 30 days. In order to cancel, customer support can be reached at (800) 470-7870.

What Do We Know About the Company Behind 80 Day Obsession?

Beachbody, LLC is based out of Santa Monica, CA and has been in business since 1998. In that time, they’ve released dozens of ultra-popular fitness programs, including many we’ve written about here at HighYa, such as CIZE and Body Beast. This is in addition to Autumn Calabrese's releases like 21 Day Fix, 21 Day Fix Extreme, and Country Heat Dance Workout.

Beachbody held no rating with the Better Business Bureau, with no customer reviews or complaints, as of 1/11/18.

Are There Other Timed Nutrition Fitness Programs Like 80 Day Obsession?

If you’ve worked out a fair amount (which you probably have if you’re interested in 80 Day Obsession), you know that a large part of staying on track is based on maintaining motivation. And with so many people looking for different kinds of motivation, this means there are workouts available that tap into just about every interest and genre.

As such, you’ll find perhaps hundreds of ‘extreme’ workouts out there that promise to help you achieve many of the same results as 80 Day Obsession, including fitness and nutrition plans focused on experiencing rock-hard abs, a firmer, higher butt, and whole body fitness.

Related: What Is Crossfit: Your Comprehensive Guide to High-Impact Interval Training

However, if you’re looking for an all-in-one program that literally hands you everything you need (except for the motivation and willpower, of course) and places a strong focus on timed nutrition, it’s currently your only option.

But it’s also important to point out that, individually, if you’re more experienced in the realm of fitness, you could likely put together a program on your own that contains many of the same components, including portion control, nutrient timing (“knowing when to eat and what to eat before, during and after exercise”), daily core and booty-focused exercises, and an intense schedule with different workouts each day.

How to choose between 80 Day Obsession, a competing fitness program, and building your own system from scratch?

According to Steve over at Nerd Fitness, “The best workout and diet plan is the plan that you actually follow through with.” In other words, as we discussed at the beginning of the section, the one that allows you to maintain motivation throughout the process. After all, motivation it what’s going to help you remain on track when all you want to do is make excuses and stuff your face full of carbs.

From there, Larry Sarokin, a 50+ Fitness teacher and author of “Mudwalking: Unleash the Power of Walking for Vitality, Rejuvenation, & Longevity,” recommends choosing based on your goals, whether this is whole body fitness, a tighter booty or abs, or weight loss.

You’ll also want to choose a program whose training fits within your everyday schedule, that can provide more than one benefit (why not maximize your training time?), and one that can also provide advantages in your daily life.

Does this mean you should activate your Beachbody on Demand membership to gain access to 80 Day Obsession?

Our Final Thoughts About 80 Day Obsession

As with any other fitness program, whether or not 80 Day Obsession is right for you is going to be based on your personal needs and preferences. But as frequently emphasized on the Beachbody website, it’s going to require a serious time and energy commitment, including meal prep and a “laser-focus on detail,” as well as the necessary willpower to stay on track.

Because of this commitment, we’re told it’s best for intermediate to advanced fitness levels.

Even if you decide to sign up for the A Little Obsession five-day intro, you’ll have to make an investment in weights and portion control containers, although it’s likely that you already own equipment like this if you’re at a moderate to advanced fitness level. On the other hand, 80 Day Obsession could represent a one-stop shopping experience if you’re looking to maximize your chances of starting out on the right foot.

Furthermore, all Beachbody on Demand subscriptions come with a 30-day satisfaction guarantee, which should be more than enough time to decide if 80 Day Obsession is right for you. Just remember that you’ll have to pay return shipping for any equipment purchased.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

4 Consumer Reviews for 80 Day Obsession

Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-4 of 4
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Mixed feelings

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Mar 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited to start this program. I loved all of Autumn programs, and just love Beachbody in general, so after doing several programs, I was immensely looking forward to this one.

    At first, I loved the new exercises, the variety of loops, sliders, and weights. But then as the program progressed, I started really finding the hour workouts just not enjoyable due to the repetitiveness of the third rounds. I had very good results with 30-minute workouts, and especially 21 Day Fix, so to simply double a workout and call it Obsession started to seem a little annoying to me. I found her less coaching and motivating, and more joking around with the cast. For someone at home working out by themselves, watching someone just laugh and take their time while waiting for the next move just began to get obnoxious for me.

    It's unfortunate for me to even feel badly towards one of her workouts and feel the need to leave a review, but I needed to be honest. I would, however, be lying if I said that I did not get any results. During phase one my body started feeling better than ever, but to not enjoy the workouts as each day went on, I just didn't find it worth it. I'm on day 45 and I really just started to tune out and lose motivation.

    Would I say it's a waste of time? No. There are many enjoyable things about it. Would I recommend it over other programs? No. Will I most likely finish the program but leave out the workouts I despise, such as Cardio Flow? Yes. Sorry Autumn, but this program wasn't my favorite.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Thought they should get another star

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started the first day of phase 2 and it's really a great workout, so I wanted to give it 5 stars. I'm impressed at the strength gains.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jan 25, 2018

    Thought they should get another star

    I just wanted to add another star. I really loved Cardio and Booty in week two, and it's definitely picking up the pace. I also found out it's structured in three phases, so the first three weeks are intro and strength building for phase two, and phase two should add more advanced moves with plyometrics and weights, and phase three sounded like a more intense version of that. It sounded like she would include some moves I bet come from 21 Day Fix Extreme, and that was a fun workout.

    I would probably give this a five-star review, but I don't love everything about the company's culture.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Jan 24, 2018

    80 Day Obsession

    So far I'm pretty into 80 Day Obsession and lost 2-3 lbs since I started.

    How it works: The program works where you're essentially targeting the same muscles each day of the week, but Autumn changes up the workouts slightly each time, so it's nice not watching the same video every week. The moves you do each week will be pretty similar but in a different order and using more reps or heavier weight. So far I'm pretty okay with that because week one I was still learning all the moves (not used to bands, so wasn't the fastest changing them week one, but am better now). I am curious to see if in week three we'll do some more new moves but since a lot are new to me anyway, I'd be okay with increasing weights/rep a bit.

    About the Bands: The band you want is really going to depend on your size. The 12-inch bands, which seem to be the standard on Amazon, were not great for me (I think they use 9-inch). 12-inch bands on me might as well not even be there, so that felt like a waste. I just ordered some 10-inch bands that I hope will work better for these workouts (9's are really hard to find I guess, unless on the Beachbody site).

    So far it's kind of a love-hate with bands. I've never used them and they rip my hair out of my legs, but also I am targeting new muscles than I did in other workouts, so I'm interested in seeing it work (I've been able to kind of get the 12s to work, but it's requiring a frustrating amount of focus).

    Pace: Slower than typical Beachbody workouts but also a bit longer on some days. Total Body and Booty seem casual and week one was definitely introductory compared to week two. The Cardio days are more fast-paced as usual, but a lot of Autumn's other videos from 21 Day Fix might have been more my preferred pace, and I find myself thinking I might start skipping some of the days to just go back to 21 Day Fix moves.

    Video: No music in the classes might throw you off. I don't really mind it being gone, either play your own music or focus on the moves. Otherwise, the quality is great and I like how informal the classes occasionally feel; sometimes they all get in a circle with the camera POV in the middle of the circle, which seems unique as far as classes go and kind of makes it feel like you're there.

    Diet: I'll be honest and say I've never followed a single Beachbody workout exactly how they want, but you should get results following a basic healthy Mediterranean diet and doing this as well. If you don't already eat healthy you may want to look into it. You'll need to refuel like after any workout though, so I just drink a protein drink and have a clementine like immediately after the workout and then a light lunch a little later. I typically start the day with a dairy-free chia pudding. Pretty much just don't do this and continue eating pizza and eat the healthy food surrounding your workout window. Just google "is Shakeology a scam" (it's probably good for you, but for what it is, there are less expensive alternatives).

    Conclusion: I think it's a solid program, and being familiar with years of Beachbody workouts, I'm pretty good at ignoring some of their nonsense (they like you to primarily buy their overpriced branded stuff but you don't need to). Also, I think 21 Day Fix (I did four rounds and got ripped) might be the better of the workouts in terms of results, but not sold yet since week one was introductory and I'm definitely liking week two more so far.

    Give it a try and don't be afraid to use heavier weight if you can handle it. Also, watch a band workout to get a good idea of what you'll need; if you're a bit larger the 12-inch bands might be good, but I need like the 9 to 10-inch bands in order to actually feel the resistance.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My absolute favorite!

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Feb 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very nervous and apprehensive about starting this program. The time nutrition seemed a little scary, and I am terrible at finishing programs that are longer than 3 weeks! But one month in and I cannot wait to keep going. First of all, I need a program that is more weights-based than cardio, because I hate cardio. There is cardio in this program but it is more focused on weights and sculpting.

    Secondly, and my favorite part, these were filmed live in late 2017. Which means that they are doing exactly what you are doing and struggling with the same things you are struggling with. They do a weekly video of the cast talking about how their week is going, and it is just so refreshing to see so much honesty in a workout program. The same goes for Autumn. You see so much more of her personality during these workouts. Instead of walking around most of the time, she is like 95% down there doing exactly what you are doing. You also see her have to lighten her weights and struggle with her own issues. The laughing and personal feeling of this program is what makes me so excited to keep going!

    And last, the timed nutrition. I have actually been able to follow this nutrition plan more than any other. I guess I needed someone to tell me exactly what to eat and when to eat it. It does require meal prepping and planning, which is something I was terrible out. But the plan is forcing me to things I have never done before, and it makes me feel more confident in my ability to stick with this for another two months!

    P.S. As far as the "80" different workouts. Yes, through every phase the moves are the same, but the way the workout is structured is different every day (with the exception of Cardio). However, the cast is showing up every day that you so it feels different every time!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

  • 9 out 24 people found this review helpful


    You are told by the coaches that “there are 80 different workouts." So far, this is a lie. We finished the first week and when I went to preview the second week, each day has the same moves, you simply increase reps. I feel like I was misled by my coach. The timed nutrition is difficult to follow, unless you don’t work. I am very upset at how misleading this program is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2018

      Marie-Pier Simard

      I love 80 Day Obsession! I find it very freeing to do this at home whenever I want. I have the complete opposite opinion on this compared to Miss Sarcasm. In fact, there are 80 different workout videos. You don't watch the same "tape" over and over. The point of having to do the same move is to make you stronger with higher weights. Learning different move every day would mean that you don't excel in this move and you don't progress.

      Also, I do not have a coach (except for Autumn on my screen.) In fact, there is no need for more coaching but there is one essential thing which is positivity.

      Well, I guess that's all. Have a good time everyone!

    • Feb 8, 2018

      Katherine Alley Demmons

      Yeah, the timed nutrition can be difficult at times but it is not impossible. I am an RN in an inpatient surgical unit. I work 12-hour shifts 3-4 times a week, and I make it work. I love this program. Each video is different and the pattern which you follow changes, as well as the number of reps.

    • Feb 12, 2018


      The timed nutrition can be difficult. I work where I have to take the train every day. I have found that I can make it work. Yes, you have to plan but that's the point. We all make bad decisions when we didn't plan ahead. I'm out of the house 12 hours a day during the week and have two small children. It's doable if you plan.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

Showing 1-4 of 4

Write a Review for 80 Day Obsession!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review